British Wool Weekend show

Harrogate is the place to be this weekend, with the British Wool Weekend show taking place at the Yorkshire Event Centre.  Details are on the website http://www.britishwool.net/BWW/Home.html.  The aim of British Wool Weekend, is to raise the profile of BRITISH WOOL and the many related products produced from British wool.

There are talks and workshops and the list of exhibitors is just mouth-watering! There is a big list at the bottom of this post for those of you who want to drool.  Peak Fibre Yarns are going to be selling some of my sheep knitting kits – hooray!

 

If you can’t make it, I’m offering a 10% discount in my etsy shop for the whole weekend, in celebration of British wool.  Enter code BWW10 at the checkout.  Enjoy!

List of Exhibitors

Artisan Yarns

Black Bat Sheepskins

Breakthrough Breast Cancer

British Wool Marketing Board

Clervaux Trust

Halifax Spinning Mill Ltd

Hannalin Crafts

Historical Caps (Gloria Holmes)

Ingrid Wagner Rug and Art Creation

International Feltmakers  Association

Jacob Whitedale

Jamieson and Smith

Knatters Knits

Knitting and Crochet Guild

Knitting Magazine

Knitwitts

National Angora Group

Long Plain Mohair (Amanda Cornforth)

Low Lands Legacy

Mobair by Victoria Smedley

Natural Fibre Company Blacker Yarns

Peak Yarns and Fibres

Propagansey (Deb Gillanders)

Ragpuss Vintage Textiles

Real Shetland Company

Sasha Kagan – Exhibition

Tanya Kagan

Shetland Sheep Society

Skeins

Spinwise

Swaledale Woollens Ltd

Teeswater Wools

Textile Art Group

The Guild of Machine Knitters

The Old Book Shop

The Rug Studio (Cilla Cameron)

The Sheep Show Man

The Wool Room

Weavers, Spinners and Dyers Guild

Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop

West Yorkshire Federation of W.I.s

White Rose Guild of Lace Maker

Willo AlpacasWool and Buttons

Woolly Chic

Woolyknit

Yorkshire Alpaca Breeders

York Steiner School

About madebyewe

Hello, and welcome to my blog, where I talk about the ups and downs of running a crafty business, knitting and life. I learnt to knit when I was a child in the 1970s. I think my Mum taught me, though it may have been one of my Nans. Both Nans were great crafters and my Mum knitted, when she had time. My childhood was full of wearing Mum's warm and cosy handknit jumpers to school and playing with yarn by the fire, making presents for my family and clothes for my toys. When I grew up, I started a business designing children's handknitted jumpers. Now I spend some of my time desgining gardens, as well as designing knitting. The garden design business is well established; the knitting design business is just starting out. I love the rhythmic quality of knitting, the feel of woolly yarn in my hands and the way a project grows beneath my fingers. It is relaxing and productive at the same time. I especially love vintage knitted toys and the quirky simplicity of the patterns. They were often made in times of austerity, when money and supplies were short, but the desire to create something fun inspite of this, shines through. I am a supporter of the Campaign for Wool, supporting the British wool industry, and using British yarn for my kits. Where would we be without fields of fluffy sheep to admire? Baa Humbug to acrylic!
This entry was posted in campaign for wool, knitting kit and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

