Herdy holidays!

Look what I got in the post today – holiday postcards!

 

One of my online friends(who writes a lovely blog here) has been on holiday to the Lakes, and she took one of the sheep she has knitted from my kits.

Here is Herdy enjoying the sunshine

But wait – who is this come over to have a look?

A real Herdy! – oh so cute – she would have been wrestled into the back of my car if I had been there!

About madebyewe

Hello, and welcome to my blog, where I talk about the ups and downs of running a crafty business, knitting and life. I learnt to knit when I was a child in the 1970s. I think my Mum taught me, though it may have been one of my Nans. Both Nans were great crafters and my Mum knitted, when she had time. My childhood was full of wearing Mum's warm and cosy handknit jumpers to school and playing with yarn by the fire, making presents for my family and clothes for my toys. When I grew up, I started a business designing children's handknitted jumpers. Now I spend some of my time desgining gardens, as well as designing knitting. The garden design business is well established; the knitting design business is just starting out. I love the rhythmic quality of knitting, the feel of woolly yarn in my hands and the way a project grows beneath my fingers. It is relaxing and productive at the same time. I especially love vintage knitted toys and the quirky simplicity of the patterns. They were often made in times of austerity, when money and supplies were short, but the desire to create something fun inspite of this, shines through. I am a supporter of the Campaign for Wool, supporting the British wool industry, and using British yarn for my kits. Where would we be without fields of fluffy sheep to admire? Baa Humbug to acrylic!
This entry was posted in wooly lovlieness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Herdy holidays!

  1. Claire Hoey says:

    Ha ha I am laughing you are quicker than me I still have not got around to putting my pics of the Lakes on my blog yet – maybe this aft! You would have laughed even more if you had seen the pics of my son with the herdwick (the knitted one obviously) on his head!!! Glad you liked the photos! Claire x

  2. How lovely that not only did one of your sheep get a holiday, he found friends *and* you got a postcard! How fab! xx

  3. Ahh! Herdy is so cute and in such lovely scenery. What a lovely postcard!

  4. Natalie says:

    awwww the Herdys are so cute! (real life and knitted versions :)) what a lovely personal postcard to receive 🙂 x

  5. Oh, how lovely that is – a very kind thought. He does look as though he has having a great time and the weather looks good too (very jealous). Hope you have a good week.

  6. t1ckledp1nk says:

    That’s hilarious and soo cute! How fabulous!

  7. I am not sure that he would have wanted to go in your car! Great photos though. 🙂

  8. Lisa says:

    This is one of those posts that just makes you smile :))) Great postcard!

  9. Tee hee! That made me so happy! Especially with the real sheep in the background.

Leave a Reply

