Bunny Family Picnic

At last I can reveal the new pattern that I have written for Knit Now magazine, which I mentioned a little while ago here.

It’s a pattern for a family of bunnies off on a picnic, all knitted in lovely British yarn.  The yarn was supplied by Blacker Yarns –  soft Shetland yarn for the bunnies and a Guernsey yarn in vintage colours for the clothers.  Full details can be found on Ravelry here, with a photo by Tim Bradley for Practical Publishing (thanks Tim, they look really cute.)

Here is one of my photos, which I took in the garden before I sent the bunnies off to Knit Now.

The magazine goes on sale on 31 May and I think I will be camped outside the newsagents so that I get my hands on a copy as soon as possible!  The pattern will eventually be for sale in my shop, but not for a good few months yet.  So if you want one, you’ll have to buy the mag too!

Hope you are all enjoying the sunshine and having lots of picnics too!

Check out what other crafty people have been up to over at the new home of Handmade Monday

About madebyewe

Hello, and welcome to my blog, where I talk about the ups and downs of running a crafty business, knitting and life. I learnt to knit when I was a child in the 1970s. I think my Mum taught me, though it may have been one of my Nans. Both Nans were great crafters and my Mum knitted, when she had time. My childhood was full of wearing Mum's warm and cosy handknit jumpers to school and playing with yarn by the fire, making presents for my family and clothes for my toys. When I grew up, I started a business designing children's handknitted jumpers. Now I spend some of my time desgining gardens, as well as designing knitting. The garden design business is well established; the knitting design business is just starting out. I love the rhythmic quality of knitting, the feel of woolly yarn in my hands and the way a project grows beneath my fingers. It is relaxing and productive at the same time. I especially love vintage knitted toys and the quirky simplicity of the patterns. They were often made in times of austerity, when money and supplies were short, but the desire to create something fun inspite of this, shines through. I am a supporter of the Campaign for Wool, supporting the British wool industry, and using British yarn for my kits. Where would we be without fields of fluffy sheep to admire? Baa Humbug to acrylic!
This entry was posted in business, knitting, wooly lovlieness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Bunny Family Picnic

  1. t1ckledp1nk says:

    They are lovely, so cute!

  2. Oh, such a gorgeous pattern! I think the magazine will probably send you a copy just prior to general release, which might save you the bother of camping! Looking forward to seeing it in print – don’t forget to let us know about it!! x

  3. They are so lovely and well done for being ‘in print’ Very exciting. Hope you have a good week.

  4. Very lovely bunnies! And how exciting to be in print- congratulations!

  5. Natalie says:

    well done for getting into the magazine – how exciting! your bunnies look super cute sunning themselves in the garden! 🙂

  6. Lisa says:

    Ah they’re lovely, well done on having your pattern in a magazine. The photo would make a great greetings card too!

  7. Caroline says:

    Your knitting designs are so good and well done on being published. Received my Fraser kit thank you so much just hope I can do him justice, may store him for the colder evenings as think he will be so much fun to knit by the fire with a mug of steaming hot chocolate.

  8. anastasiawraight says:

    To precious for words! I love bunnies like these.

    I just wanted to let you know, I’ve nominated you for a Versatile Blogger Award. You can read about it here: http://fortheknitofit.wordpress.com/2012/05/30/the-versatile-blogger/

    Love your blog! Keep up the great work!

  9. Congratulations on being published. It is a great pattern too. Well done.

  10. Claire Hoey says:

    Hooray! Well done you. I will be rushing out to get my copy and grabbing the needles immediately I just hope I can find somewhere that stocks it! We are just back from our holiday in the lakes where there were Herdwick sheep everywhere I went – wonderful! I took my knitted Herdwick sheep from your kit with me of course and had the most fun doing a photo shoot with him in the field with the real thing! The result will be winging your way real soon! hmmm now where is my nearest newsagents…….

Leave a Reply

