Market research

Does anyone watch ‘Homeland’? I ask because there was some interesting marketing going on in the adverts between the show sections last night.

At the first advert break we had the highly publicised trailer of the new Ridley Scott film ‘Prometheus’, with a request for viewers to tweet in their opinions of the clip.  So far , so good.  ‘Homeland’ is the kind of modern, intriguing, slick show that probably appeals to the sort of audience who like to go to the cinema to watch big Sci-Fi films with huge special effects.

At the second advert break, some of the tweets appeared on screen, giving lots of positive reviews of the film. What a great way to engage with your audience – “Tweet and you might be on TV!” – it’s got to be more appealing than the usual calls to ‘ring this number’.

The third advert break was somewhat different – the main advert was for Anglian double glazing, in quite an old fashioned format.

Hmm, do the people at Anglian think that the Homeland/Prometheus viewers are their market and they will be raring to buy double glazing at 9.45pm on a Sunday night?  I can just hear the conversations this morning:

“Did you watch Homeland last night – wasn’t it exciting! And what about that Prometheus trailer – I must see that film.  I’ve also got to get some new double glazing…..

Now I’m not a marketing expert, and I might be totally wrong about the Anglian potential customer, but the point I want to make is that if you are selling something, you need to know your market.

One good way to do this is to find out about your previous customers.  After all, they are already your market as they have bought from you.  I’ve been doing some market research on my previous customers with a  great free market research tool from www.surveymonkey.com.  It is really simple to use, even for a technophobe like me.

You can put together a free survey of 10 questions pretty easily and send it out to gauge what your customers think of your products, how you can improve your products, what new products they might be interested in – anything really that you would like to know.  It’s very useful for me as my sales are all online at the moment so I don’t get to meet my customers face-to-face.

The replies have helped me identify what kind of people buy my kits, where they are likely to shop and what they like and don’t like about my products.  The replies make for interesting reading. Thanks to everyone who has replied to me, your opinions have been noted!

So make sure you know your market!  And, by the way, is Brody a good guy or a bad guy – what do you think?

Take a look at Handmade Monday to check out some crafters who know their market.

About madebyewe

Hello, and welcome to my blog, where I talk about the ups and downs of running a crafty business, knitting and life. I learnt to knit when I was a child in the 1970s. I think my Mum taught me, though it may have been one of my Nans. Both Nans were great crafters and my Mum knitted, when she had time. My childhood was full of wearing Mum's warm and cosy handknit jumpers to school and playing with yarn by the fire, making presents for my family and clothes for my toys. When I grew up, I started a business designing children's handknitted jumpers. Now I spend some of my time desgining gardens, as well as designing knitting. The garden design business is well established; the knitting design business is just starting out. I love the rhythmic quality of knitting, the feel of woolly yarn in my hands and the way a project grows beneath my fingers. It is relaxing and productive at the same time. I especially love vintage knitted toys and the quirky simplicity of the patterns. They were often made in times of austerity, when money and supplies were short, but the desire to create something fun inspite of this, shines through. I am a supporter of the Campaign for Wool, supporting the British wool industry, and using British yarn for my kits. Where would we be without fields of fluffy sheep to admire? Baa Humbug to acrylic!
This entry was posted in business and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Market research

  1. Didn’t see the show, but yes I agree – market research is important and surveymonkey is a great tool and easy to use and analyse.

  2. Caroline says:

    Recorded Homeland but will check for the adverts. The problem is Anglian obviously paid for prime time and both the channel and them were at fault, think this would have been better in the middle of say location, location or a diy themed programme. They cannot be doing their research.
    Marketing is very important and f & F just does not count.

  3. Jill says:

    I think the 9.00 pm – 10.30 pm slot on TV is classed as prime advertising time, so big hitters such as Anglian will go for that time slot. Marketing is essential, but the when, where and how is so important. Have all episodes of Homeland recorded – tend to like to watch series in big chunks. Not sure when I will get around to the first big chunk though and have to admit I rarely watch anything ‘live’ so can fast forward through the ads or use catch-up. Hope you have a good week..

  4. Anji says:

    Don’t watch it but I am amazed at some of the weird timings of adverts. Some ads even put me off thinking about the product, especially car insurance!

  5. say it says:

    I’ve used survey monkey in the past for work and it’s a great tool. What a fab idea to use it to ask your customers about your products and to collect their ideas. I guess you ask the standard ‘where did you hear about us’ question, and that would help you find out what advertising was working best.

  6. A real Homeland fan here but got to admit, I never watch adverts! Amazed that they still advertise double glazing on TV – there seem to be folks at the door every day trying to sell it.
    Would be great to get some market research though and SurveyMonkey sounds like a great idea.

    Can’t decide about Brody…

    Alison x

  7. fiddlyfingers says:

    Don’t watch Homelands but what an interesting marketing strategy. May have to give Survey Monkey a look! Thanks for pointing us in the right direction!

  8. I think you’re really smart! I was just complaining to some friends about a horrible commercial (probably only runs in the US) for an android phone with a couple of crying women that is so annoying I will now NEVER buy an android phone because it made me hate them as I have to rush to find my mute button every time. I sometimes wonder what companies are thinking with marketing. But it’s good to see you are! 🙂

  9. mcrafts says:

    Good idea about the surveys – think that maybe a useful tool. Mich x

Leave a Reply

