April brings the Primrose Sweet!

Well, it’s not quite April yet, but I’m learning that in this sales game, you have to be at least a month ahead of real time.  It’s not easy thinking Spring colours and Spring thoughts in the middle of winter, but that’s what I’ve been doing to design 2 new sheep knitting kits for the Spring.

So let me introduce you to April…

She’s got a lovely soft lemon fleece.  It’s the colour of Spring and, as soon as the primroses are out in the garden, I’ll be photographing her with them.

She wasn’t always named April.  People ask me how I decide on the names for the sheep.  Actually, they name themselves.  They sit on my desk for a little while when they are finished, and, at some point, their name will come into my head.  I don’t know if they bleat it softly or whether it’s telepathy, but their name just pops up.  I also had a good friend at school called April, so it’s nice to know her name lives on!

April is on sale in my etsy shop, for a special introductory price until the end of (you’ve guessed it!) April.

She also has a sister, but more about her next time….

Thanks for stopping by and check out what other crafty people have been up to this week over at Handmade Monday

About madebyewe

Hello, and welcome to my blog, where I talk about the ups and downs of running a crafty business, knitting and life. I learnt to knit when I was a child in the 1970s. I think my Mum taught me, though it may have been one of my Nans. Both Nans were great crafters and my Mum knitted, when she had time. My childhood was full of wearing Mum's warm and cosy handknit jumpers to school and playing with yarn by the fire, making presents for my family and clothes for my toys. When I grew up, I started a business designing children's handknitted jumpers. Now I spend some of my time desgining gardens, as well as designing knitting. The garden design business is well established; the knitting design business is just starting out. I love the rhythmic quality of knitting, the feel of woolly yarn in my hands and the way a project grows beneath my fingers. It is relaxing and productive at the same time. I especially love vintage knitted toys and the quirky simplicity of the patterns. They were often made in times of austerity, when money and supplies were short, but the desire to create something fun inspite of this, shines through. I am a supporter of the Campaign for Wool, supporting the British wool industry, and using British yarn for my kits. Where would we be without fields of fluffy sheep to admire? Baa Humbug to acrylic!
This entry was posted in knitting, knitting kit and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to April brings the Primrose Sweet!

  1. RosMadeMe says:

    Primrose is rather lovely and fills me full of hope 🙂

  2. So pretty – makes me want it to be Easter already 🙂

  3. Caroline says:

    April is so sweet and love the Primrose colour. Know what you mean about working ahead of time Spring with snow on the ground does not work

  4. Jill says:

    April is lovely and the colour of her fleece is gorgeous – just like the wild primrose yellow. I am sure she will be very popular. Hope you have a good week.

  5. April is just so sweet, I’m sure she will be very popular.
    Hugs Sue x

  6. April is so lovely!! Is her sister called May?

  7. t1ckledp1nk says:

    I love April, she’s fab! I got all my pastel colours out last night and it really cheered me up to think Spring is on the way!

  8. What a perfect name for a beautiful sheep, love the colours too perfect for spring! x

  9. Just looking at April makes me think of springtime 🙂

  10. Claire Hoey says:

    What a wonderful day to see this little spring sheep on your blog. Here today it is THE most beautifully sunny day with blue skies and blossom popping out and I have spent the day with a flock of very pregnant sheep! Two and a half weeks to lambing.
    I love April she is so very pretty and delicate.
    hugs
    Claire x

  11. Martha says:

    oh, wow! how cool this sheep is! it makes me wanna knit some more and more and im only just learning the basics!

Leave a Reply

