A Giveaway and a Question

Happy Monday everybody and news this week of a chance to win one of my sheep knitting kits for free!

I’ve donated a kit to one of my favourite blog/podcasts, run from Guernsey by a lovely lady called Martine.  The blog and podcast are about all sorts of crafty things and well worth a read or listen.Visit the I Make Blog, and leave a comment for your chance to win.

And now a question.  In my quest for world knitted sheep domination (!), I’ve been contemplating trying to sell some knitting kits through brick and mortar shops and wonder if all you talented readers have any experience of doing this or any tips or caveats for me to consider?  Any comments would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

Take a look at what other crafty people have been up to over on Handmade Monday.

About madebyewe

Hello, and welcome to my blog, where I talk about the ups and downs of running a crafty business, knitting and life. I learnt to knit when I was a child in the 1970s. I think my Mum taught me, though it may have been one of my Nans. Both Nans were great crafters and my Mum knitted, when she had time. My childhood was full of wearing Mum's warm and cosy handknit jumpers to school and playing with yarn by the fire, making presents for my family and clothes for my toys. When I grew up, I started a business designing children's handknitted jumpers. Now I spend some of my time desgining gardens, as well as designing knitting. The garden design business is well established; the knitting design business is just starting out. I love the rhythmic quality of knitting, the feel of woolly yarn in my hands and the way a project grows beneath my fingers. It is relaxing and productive at the same time. I especially love vintage knitted toys and the quirky simplicity of the patterns. They were often made in times of austerity, when money and supplies were short, but the desire to create something fun inspite of this, shines through. I am a supporter of the Campaign for Wool, supporting the British wool industry, and using British yarn for my kits. Where would we be without fields of fluffy sheep to admire? Baa Humbug to acrylic!
This entry was posted in knitting kit and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Giveaway and a Question

  1. RosMadeMe says:

    Have you considered selling the kits through the really well known wool and yarn internet sites, like Black Sheep, Loop etc… might be less expensive than a bricks and mortar shop.

  2. mcrafts says:

    I think the kits are a good idea. There is a great shop where I live called The Peacock and the Tortoise http://www.thepeacockandthetortoise.co.uk/ – you should consider asking them about stocking as they aren’t a huge shop and they have one or two different kits just now and they are into felting, and that type of craft – so it may be worth asking if they will do a ‘sale or return’ type deal so they don’t have to buy a large amount. – just an idea Mich x

  3. Susie says:

    I think it might be a great idea, I always like to see things and feel them etc. But I might be a dinosaur. Of course, if there is a way you can try it out and see, it might be worth a try. 🙂

  4. Wendy says:

    Love your designs so I’m sure it’ll work. Some online stores will be interested in drop shipping – easy for them as you send direct to their customer (and you can promote your own store by way of leaflets/cards in the parcel!) and easy for you as they do all the listing and promoting. They don’t usually expect a high mark up when it’s done this way.

  5. Jam Dalory says:

    I don’t know much about advertising unfortunately but i’m sure wherever you do sell these they should do well, they’re so cute. x

  6. He’s really cute.
    I have a few items in a couple of B & M shops and do quite well, one is a gift shop and the other is a baby items shop. They are all on a sale or return basis and I pay 20% on any sales.
    You never know if you don’t try, good luck.

    Jan x

  7. Jenny says:

    I think the kits are a great idea, and I would have thought that high quality wool shops would be interested. Maybe a mix of online and ‘real’ shops would be a good way to test the waters? Do you sell through any of the online gift websites like Not on the High Street? That might be worth a try too.

  8. redneedle says:

    Bricks and mortar how exciting. I’m glad you posed this question it was interesting reading everyones comments. Good luck with it all.

  9. kits are always a good idea and that sheep is sooo cute!

  10. Hope you have a fabulous Christmas, look forward to reading your blog in the new year. xx

Leave a Reply

