It’s not a sheep!

Having finished my Owl last week and put it in my shop, I intended to start work on another sheep.  But then I got distracted, as you do!  I’ve had this totally gorgeous yarn in my stash for nearlly a year and I’ve been longing to knit something with it.

It’s Gotland DK from Well Manor Farm, who raise their own sheep and produce their own wool.  It’s a lovely soft grey with a slight haze, and it’s a dream to knit with.  It’s so snuggly that it just had to be a little grey rabbit.  No pics yet as she’s in pieces while I decide how big to make her, how long her legs should be, how to do her ears etc.  I’ve also got some hand dyed blue yarn from Well Manor so she will have a little dress too.

The yarn doesn’t seem to be for sale on the website, so I hope I can get some more for a kit.  Well Manor Farm is near Farnham, which is not far from me, so maybe I can visit.  Has anyone else been there?

See what everyone else has been up to over on Handmade Monday.

About madebyewe

Hello, and welcome to my blog, where I talk about the ups and downs of running a crafty business, knitting and life. I learnt to knit when I was a child in the 1970s. I think my Mum taught me, though it may have been one of my Nans. Both Nans were great crafters and my Mum knitted, when she had time. My childhood was full of wearing Mum's warm and cosy handknit jumpers to school and playing with yarn by the fire, making presents for my family and clothes for my toys. When I grew up, I started a business designing children's handknitted jumpers. Now I spend some of my time desgining gardens, as well as designing knitting. The garden design business is well established; the knitting design business is just starting out. I love the rhythmic quality of knitting, the feel of woolly yarn in my hands and the way a project grows beneath my fingers. It is relaxing and productive at the same time. I especially love vintage knitted toys and the quirky simplicity of the patterns. They were often made in times of austerity, when money and supplies were short, but the desire to create something fun inspite of this, shines through. I am a supporter of the Campaign for Wool, supporting the British wool industry, and using British yarn for my kits. Where would we be without fields of fluffy sheep to admire? Baa Humbug to acrylic!
This entry was posted in design, knitting, wooly lovlieness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to It’s not a sheep!

  1. Jill says:

    Looking forward to seeing the little rabbit. Well done on your inclusion in the Knitting press. Excellent news.

  2. Can’t wait to see her 🙂

  3. Jam Dalory says:

    I can’t wait to see her, she sounds sweet. Congratulations on your sheep being in the magazine. x

    • madebyewe says:

      sorry couldn’t comment on your blog for some reason there was an error.
      Try overexposing your photos to brighten the colours – Etsy has tips on how to do it and its not as hard as it sounds!

  4. redneedle says:

    Congratulations on your press mention and looking forward to seeing Mr Rabbit or will it be Mrs?

  5. RosMadeMe says:

    I love the thought of a little grey rabbit 🙂

    Am so pleased about all the exposure you are getting, it is so well deserved!

  6. Claire Hoey says:

    Oh I love rabbits (have three) so can’t wait to see your rabbit I know it will be wonderful. I really love the colours you have chosen it made me think of Little Grey Rabbit from my childhood. I hadn’t heard of Gotland until a friend gave me some locks to spin last week I bet the wool is beautiful. Roll on pay day I say so I can indulge in more of your wonderful kits. Fraser is almost complete I am totally loving the cable pattern and can see myself being quite addicted to it. Am also glad that Maeve managed to share some limelight with another sheep 🙂

    • madebyewe says:

      good, I’m glad the cable is working out – you had gone rather quiet so I thought perhaps you were cursing the pattern!

      • Claire Hoey says:

        No cursing here! I have been quiet as it has taken me rather longer and more concentration than the other sheep but in fact I have just this minute sewn up Frasers fleece! For only my 2nd ever attempt at cable I am so over the moon and very proud of myself – thank you for such a detailed and easy to follow pattern. I want to knit it all over again! Claire x

      • madebyewe says:

        oh good, glad its turned out well, well done! I’m very happy you could follow the pattern as it took ages to write!
        Fraser is on Cuteable today – I’m just going to blog about it
        X

  7. mcrafts says:

    The wool looks lovely – looking forward to seeing the little rabbit (or maybe it’ll be quite big!) Mich 🙂

  8. Wendy says:

    Lovely wool – looks like a perfect choice for a rabbit 🙂

  9. Mrs A. says:

    She sounds gorgous already and can’t wait to meet her. Hugs Mrs A.

  10. Caroline says:

    I love the traditional wools and a rabbit would be perfect in this

  11. I am yet to learn the ways of knitting, and I am still getting in a mess with crochet, however I do know how great it is to find something you are at comfort crafting with, regardless of the craft. And I am so looking forward to seeing the bunny when its complete.

Leave a Reply

