Back to Work

After a short holiday to Scotland…..

and putting Fraser into my shop (see previous blog post)

, I’m getting back to work – the day job and the crafty job both.

Whilst on holiday I made good progress on a design for knitted Christmas trees.  I took a mixed bag of yarn with me and came up with a basic pattern and some variations, which work with all sorts of yarn – great for using up oddments in the stash.

All the tree patterns can be knit up in 4ply, DK and aran weight yarn.  I had lots of fun decorating the trees when they were finished. 

 The The contents of my button box and ribbon basket were spread all over the floor, and I’ve included a few ideas in the pattern, which will be availbale from Ravelry later on today.

I’m also going to be selling a yarn pack in my Etsy shop, to make 5 trees in gorgeous British yarn.  That is, I am when I get some more yarn in stock.  Is anyone else panicking that they have left ordering their Christmas supplies too late already?

See what other people have been up to over on Handmade Monday

About madebyewe

Hello, and welcome to my blog, where I talk about the ups and downs of running a crafty business, knitting and life. I learnt to knit when I was a child in the 1970s. I think my Mum taught me, though it may have been one of my Nans. Both Nans were great crafters and my Mum knitted, when she had time. My childhood was full of wearing Mum's warm and cosy handknit jumpers to school and playing with yarn by the fire, making presents for my family and clothes for my toys. When I grew up, I started a business designing children's handknitted jumpers. Now I spend some of my time desgining gardens, as well as designing knitting. The garden design business is well established; the knitting design business is just starting out. I love the rhythmic quality of knitting, the feel of woolly yarn in my hands and the way a project grows beneath my fingers. It is relaxing and productive at the same time. I especially love vintage knitted toys and the quirky simplicity of the patterns. They were often made in times of austerity, when money and supplies were short, but the desire to create something fun inspite of this, shines through. I am a supporter of the Campaign for Wool, supporting the British wool industry, and using British yarn for my kits. Where would we be without fields of fluffy sheep to admire? Baa Humbug to acrylic!
This entry was posted in design, knitting, knitting kit and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Back to Work

  1. Claire Hoey says:

    I love these trees Linda how wonderful. I now know what I am knitting once I have finished Fraser! They will look great for Xmas – hmmm maybe even for everyones xmas presents too! To hang on the tree and to hang together on ric rac like bunting will be so cute. I also like the idea of a yarn pack, new knitters like me don’t have these ‘scraps’ that everyone keeps telling me to use up so that would be perfect! As to it being British yarns even better still as you now have me totally hooked on ‘real wool’ especially british! Claire x

  2. RosMadeMe says:

    I love the idea of a Christmas tree garland and the texture that you have used are just super!

  3. Wendy says:

    Those knitted Christmas trees are just absolutely gorgeous!! I love them (and love Fraser too of course).

  4. redneedle says:

    I was very excited when I saw your linky picture and I am not disappointed, your trees are absolutely gorgeous, Ravelry next. Thank you

  5. Susie says:

    The trees are very cute (I don’t knit, my sister does and my Mom did) but Fraser is TOO CUTE!) Wow, I love him. 🙂

  6. Planet Penny says:

    I love those trees, very cute and they make lovely bunting!

  7. mcrafts says:

    The Christmas trees are great! (Yes I too feel now time is running away – a couple of months ago I was thinking that Christmas was ages away! eek!)

  8. Mrs A. says:

    The christmas trees are absolutely stunning. Love all of the different styles and colours.

  9. Fabulous christmas trees, certainly beats the token tacky tinsel xx

  10. Jenny says:

    Lovely and different!

  11. Your christmas trees look so lovely hanging from a brick fireplace, very christmassy indeed well done!

  12. Lovely trees, I love the texture of the wools used, it’s very effective.

    Jan :o)

Leave a Reply

