Bluefaced Leicester yarn

The Bluefaced Leicester may not be the prettiest sheep, looking rather more noble than cute and cuddly. It gets its name from the blue skin under the white hair on that Roman nose.

However the yarn produced from the fleece is something special. Know as the cashmere of British yarn, the fibre is fine, silky and lustrous, and very soft.

Bluefaced Leicester wool - black and brown twist - Image 1Bluefaced Leicester - Mid brown natural twist - Image 1

The wool is comfortable enough to be worn next to the skin, but also hardwearing.  Erika Knight uses BFL for her British Blue wool ,which is perfect for baby knits.

French - Erika Knight British Blue Yarn (Navy) - Image 3

Natural White - Blue Faced Leicester DK Wool - Image 1

 

Natural White - Blue Faced Leicester DK Wool - Image 3

It is comfortable next to the skin, and of course lovely and soft to knit with.  One ball would be enough for a cosy liittle cowl, to keep out the blowy little wind that keeps whistling around the corner at the moment.

There is a range of natural and dyed colours , availabe in the Made by Ewe shop.

And now, back to the squishing…..

About madebyewe

Hello, and welcome to my blog, where I talk about the ups and downs of running a crafty business, knitting and life. I learnt to knit when I was a child in the 1970s. I think my Mum taught me, though it may have been one of my Nans. Both Nans were great crafters and my Mum knitted, when she had time. My childhood was full of wearing Mum's warm and cosy handknit jumpers to school and playing with yarn by the fire, making presents for my family and clothes for my toys. When I grew up, I started a business designing children's handknitted jumpers. Now I spend some of my time desgining gardens, as well as designing knitting. The garden design business is well established; the knitting design business is just starting out. I love the rhythmic quality of knitting, the feel of woolly yarn in my hands and the way a project grows beneath my fingers. It is relaxing and productive at the same time. I especially love vintage knitted toys and the quirky simplicity of the patterns. They were often made in times of austerity, when money and supplies were short, but the desire to create something fun inspite of this, shines through. I am a supporter of the Campaign for Wool, supporting the British wool industry, and using British yarn for my kits. Where would we be without fields of fluffy sheep to admire? Baa Humbug to acrylic!
This entry was posted in campaign for wool, wool shop and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bluefaced Leicester yarn

  1. Thank you for this. I had no idea about this wool. I’ll watch out for it but I don’t think it is available in New Zealand. But there is always internet shopping. :-)

    • madebyewe says:

      Thanks for your comment – hope you can find some of the wool locally, but, if not, my e-shop is well stocked at the moment.
      Kind regards
      Linda

Leave a Reply

